Life: Its Abundance and Scarcity

Main Article Content

Dennis Bielfeldt, General Editor

Abstract

Since from both a synchronic and diachronic perspective, life -- particularly life like ours -- is exceedingly rare in the universe, it has a prima facie preciousness.  Ontology of life questions cannot be pursued in isolation from the immediacy of this preciousness.

Downloads

Download data is not yet available.

Article Details

How to Cite
Bielfeldt, Dennis. “Life: Its Abundance and Scarcity”. Verba Vitae Journal 1, no. 1-2 (March 29, 2024): 5–13. Accessed June 24, 2024. https://verba-vitae.org/index.php/vvj/article/view/11.
Section
Introductory

References

NASA Exoplanet Exploration: Planets Beyond our Solar System, last modified November 16, 2023. https://exoplanets.nasa.gov/. Accessed November 18, 2023.

Tony Saunder, “How Many Galaxies Are in the Universe? A Lot More Than You Think,” PBC Science Focus, July 25, 2023 at 2:35 am. https://www.sciencefocus.com/blog/space/how-many-galaxies-are-in-the-universe. Accessed October 14, 2023.

“How Many Stars Are In The Universe?” Little Passports. https://www.littlepassports.com/blog/space/how-many-stars-are-in-the-universe/#:~:text=If%20you%20were%20to%20look,stars%20in%20our%20observable%20universe. Accessed October 14, 2023. The number may be much higher: perhaps 1022 and 1024. See Alisa Harvey and Elizabeth Howell, “How Many Stars are in the Universe? See Website: Space.com, Alisa Harvey and Elizabeth Howell, “How Many Stars are in the Universe?” February 11, 2022. https://www.space.com/26078-how-many-stars-are-there.html. Accessed October 22, 2023.

Wikipedia, “Life,” last modified November 6, 2023, 8:53 am. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Life. Accessed November 8, 2023.

Elizabeth Howell, “Drake Equation: Estimating the Odds of Finding ET,” Space.com, last updated October 27, 2020. https://www.space.com/25219-drake-equation.html. Accessed November 4, 2023.

SETI Institute, “The Fermi Paradox” at https://www.seti.org/fermi-paradox-0. Accessed November 3, 2023.

Howard A. Smith, “Alone in the Universe,” American Scientist, https://www.americanscientist.org/article/alone-in-the-universe. Accessed November 10, 2023.

“Runaway Universe,” Universe Timeline, last modified November 2000. https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/universe/historysans.html. Accessed November 3, 2023.

Charles Taylor, A Secular Age (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2007).